top of page

Behind the curtain: A glimpse inside my performance day ritual


Happy New Year!

It's hard to believe it's mid-January already, but such is the nature of time.

A number of people have asked me about what is involved in preparing for my gigs and concerts as an opera singer, so I thought it'd be fun to answer just that for my first blog post of 2019.

 

First of all, from a dietary point of view: a week before a concert, I cut out all caffeine, dairy and alcohol, opting instead for rooibos tea, lots of water, and apple juice. Caffeine dehydrates the vocal chords, and it's recommended that for every cup of coffee, you drink 3 average-sized glasses of water. I can't live permanently without coffee, but when I cut it out, it's a good detox. Apple juice has the same pH as the human throat, so it doesn't produce phlegm. An added benefit is that the fructose provides the energy boost required for rehearsing for and then singing an hour-long recital. For a treat, I occasionally allow myself a glass of wine mid-week, usually when i'm in the bath memorizing my music! I drink lots of water afterwards.

The morning of the concert, before breakfast, I go for a walk/run/jog to wake my body up and to immerse myself in a beautiful natural environment. The fresh air and physical exertion engage my lungs and 'singing body' (core, lumbar spine, arms and legs) for the work ahead of me.

After a quick breakfast of natural yoghurt and muesli, I do my vocal warm up. This involves humming; singing scales; doing tricky tongue-twisters; trilling and deep-breathing. Throughout, I have to ensure my body consistently supports my voice, as both are integral components of one instrument. Then I sit with my music and - without singing - make final mental notes about the dynamics I need to mark during my performance.

Three or four hours before the concert, I and/or my team prepare the venue. In addition to the piano, there's usually a prop table with an attractive table cloth and goblet of water, a flower arrangement on the "empty" side of the stage, and in front of house, a welcome desk with tablecloth and programmes. It is my practice to say a prayer. Sometimes, I position a crystal and leave incense burning to cleanse the room of performance anxiety of recent artists. I really do believe that negative energy and/or experiences can leave a residue. An exam venue is a prime example of this.

While I was still at university, I would have proceeded to my voice coach's studio to 'top and tail' my programme with her and my accompanist. Now that I'm a freelancer, I have the somewhat daunting task of doing this on my own.

Two hours before the show, I do 25 minutes of yoga: 10 of core-engaging postures, 15 of relaxation. I have a number of DVDs that guide me through this process. It is important not to do too much core work, however, otherwise the abdominal muscles become tight, which can make the voice sound like it is meeting resistance, rather than passing freely through the singing body.

One hour to go, I eat a tuna/chicken mayo wholegrain sandwich, then take a homeopathic calming tablet. The wholegrain sandwich gives me "krag" (Afrikaans word for "oomph" or physical energy), and the tablet takes away vocal and body tremors, without having the emotionally numbing effect of a beta-blocker. If I feel I need a boost, I take a vitamin C effervescent. Generally 'though, I've become comfortable with being on stage, so don't experience anxiety that much anymore.

The final point is one that changes according to the performer. Every artist has a ritual which helps to get them 'into the zone'. For me, a prayer, the scent of sandalwood incense and holding crystals in my palms helps me keep my cool. It's my way of saying: "I've got this!"

No-one but my voice coach and accompanist see me on the day of a concert. This is because it takes a great deal of energy to manage one's own nerves and to get in the zone. If people want to wish me good luck, they tend to send the message via my coach.

 

So there you have it! This is the amount of work that goes into concert day prep, and indeed, the daily timetable of any opera singer.

I hope that you found this post amusing and informative. Let me know in the comments.

Love and Light

The Forest Weaver xxx

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page